BTEC Level 2 Health & Social Care

BTEC Level 2 in Health and Social Care is a practical and theoretical work related course. You learn by completing projects and assignments that are based on realistic workplace situations, activities and demands.

This one year course gives you an introduction to all aspects of the health and social care sector. It’s available as either an award or diploma, equivalent to one or four GCSEs.

The course is designed to ;

  • give learners the opportunity to gain a broad understanding and knowledge of the health and social care sector
  • give learners a more focused understanding of health and social care through the selection of optional specialist units
  • give learners the opportunity to develop a range of personal skills and techniques, through the selection of units that are essential for successful performance in working life
  • give opportunities for learners to achieve a nationally recognised level 1/level 2 health and social care qualification
  • support progression into a more specialised level 3 vocational or academic course or into an apprenticeship.

The BTEC Level 2 in Health and Social Care provides an engaging introduction to Health and Social Care. It presents knowledge, skills and understanding in a meaningful work-related context, to allow learners to understand theory and application.

The first core unit of this qualification, which is externally assessed, provides learners with a solid foundation in human lifespan development. Students will also gain an appreciation of the importance of health and social care values in the sector.

  • Who Is This Course For?

    BTEC Level 2 in Health and Social Care is for students who are progressing from year 11 with fewer than 5 GCSE’s. Students interested in a health or social care based career should consider this course.

  • Course Details:

    The course is made up of 8 units – 4 core and 4 specialist units. The specialist units enable you to study a particular area in more depth.

    Unit 1: Communication in Health and Social Care
    Unit 2: Individual Rights in Health and Social Care
    Unit 3: Individual Needs within the Health and Social Care Sectors
    Unit 4: Ensuring Safe Environments in Health and Social Care
    Unit 5: Vocational Experience in a Health and Social Care setting.
    Unit 7: Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care
    Unit 8: Human life span development
    Unit 11: The impact of Diet on Health

    The Health and Social Care department has three dedicated teaching rooms in the Ash building. Text books are provided to use in class time which students are expected to use productively to complete their assignments. The Health and Social Care staff have a variety of different specialisms and this determines which units of the course they teach.

    The department has helped students achieve a good grade in a GCSE to help them on their chosen career path.

  • Progression:

    Students who successfully pass their single level two year at Wyke can look to progress onto level three at the College or use their qualifications to access another course, apprenticeship or employment opportunity offered by another provider.

    This course contributes to the five A*- C grades needed to study level 3 courses such as BTEC level 3 Health and Social Care, however you must achieve at least a merit grade and have English at C to progress onto the level 3 Certificate or Subsidiary Health and Social Care courses here at Wyke .